GALLOWAY - More than 100 students were recognized for being the top eighth- and 12th-grade students in Atlantic County during the Academic Excellence Award Program at the Carriage House on May 26.

Each district in the county was represented at the ceremony.

“Your futures are very bright ... You have set a standard for others to follow,” said Richard Stepura, interim executive county superintendent.

More than a dozen seniors who were recognized also received the award when they were eighth-graders.

The event was hosted by the Atlantic County Association of School Administrators, Atlantic County government and the Atlantic County Council of Education Associations.

Scholarships were also awarded during the ceremony. Frances Gallagher, 18, of Linwood, a senior at Mainland Regional High School, received the 12th annual DeEdwin Hursey Scholarship Award. She plans to study health and exercise science at the College of New Jersey in the fall.

“Every little bit helps to bring down the college debt,” said Gallagher.

Jennifer Husta, 18, of Mullica Township, a senior at Cedar Creek High School, and Alexander Brown, 18, of Northfield, a senior at Mainland Regional High School, received the 10th annual Performing Arts/Education Scholarship Award.

“Receiving the scholarship gives me confidence in my decision to pursue the arts,” said Husta, who will attend the University of the Arts in Philadelphia this fall to study dance.

Brown said the scholarship reinforces his decision to study musical theater at Rowan University in the fall. “Every role, every play, and the scholarship gives me confidence that this is the right path for me,” said Brown.

Kiarrah Johnson, 18, of Galloway, a senior at Cedar Creek High School, and Caroline Roth, 18, a senior at Cape May Technical High School, each received the 11th annual CAPSA Award.

“The scholarship will help me with the cost of books and other things I need to pursue my education,” said Johnson, who will study health sciences at Rider University.

Roth will study nursing at Widener University come the fall. “I was very surprised to receive the scholarship. My school nominated me for it,” she said.

Top students include:

•Absecon School District: Pranami Patel, Aiden Mendonca, and Louisa Esposito, eighth grade;

•Atlantic City School District: Iliana Pineda, Ahmed Shah, Calen Wilson, Tan Lee, Hanson Li, Andrew Fernandez, Peter Esset, Ajra Jabin, eight grade; Katie Cavanaugh, Dennis Duffin, and Enoch Solano-Sanchez, 12th grade;

•Atlantic County Special Services School District: Douglas W. Van Cise and Mark G. Warfield, twelfth grade;

•Atlantic County Vocational School District: Juan Carlos R. Belmonte, Raymond J. Copsey, Anna C. Costabile, Isabelle A. Hennautk, and John Yasay, 12th grade;

•Brigantine School District: Owen Gresham, Oscar Haider and William Reynolds, eighth grade;

•Buena Regional School District: Alaina Brunozzi, Addyson Ferrari, Olivia Pullman, Gianna Regalbuttol Danielle Gallo, eighth grade; Mason Brestle and Nina Formisano, 12th grade;

•Egg Harbor City School District: Nicholas Kienzle, Daniel McTigue, Khaled Khan, eighth grade; Aditya Joshi, Cindy Luo, Megha Andrews, Julianna Catania and Luke Elwell, 12th grade;

•Estell Manor School District: Hailey G. Carano and Madison S. Rocap, eighth grade;

•Folsom School District: Bobbi Cooke and Jordyn Brown, eighth grade;

•Galloway Township School District: Victoria Axelsson, Justin Crawford, Lilynn Custodio, Sydney Mullin, Janvi Patel, Alexander Rupsee and Michelle Thieu, eighth grade;

•Greater Egg Harbor Regional High School District: Apria Pinkett, Alexandra Peters, Michelle W. Wu, Brandon B. Risley, Cassandra Warrener and Alexa Howard, 12th grade;

•Hamilton Township School District: Nina K. Casselberry, Jackie R. Copperman, Hayden P. Horsey, Vivek S. Kolli, Rachael M. Lewis, Andy K. Nguyen and Paulina J. Trzesniowska, eighth grade;

•Hammonton School District: Joseph Calderone, Thomas Cusick, Samuel Donio, Julia Sulzner, Julia Terry, David Theuma and Mae Sarah Trinh, eighth grade; Sean Michael Trinh, Isabella Massey, Dylan A. Ruskanen, Zackary Georgoulianos, 12th grade;

•Linwood School District: Anna-Marie DiNofrio, Gina Geraci, Michael Mitnick and Fiona Karol, eighth grade;

•Mainland Regional High School District: Nazia Tahia, Mark A. Pino, Kevin T. Meglathery and John J. DiNofrio, 12th grade;

•Margate School District: Kate J. Carter, Megan J. Crawford and Kai K. Tripician, eighth grade;

•Mullica Township School District: Grace Lyons, Hannah Goolden and Riley Lower, eighth grade;

•Northfield School District: Danielle Schuster, Ashley Scott, Angela Stefanowicz and Alexa Thompson, eighth grade;

•Pleasantville School District: Yani McNeil, Ashuana Francis, Jazmine Solorzano, Claudia Clermont, Tiffany Sanchez and D’Asia Simpson, eighth grade; Barbara Bazemore and Racquel Wynder, 12th grade;

•Port Republic School District: Cole Laughlin and Jake Nawrocki, eighth grade;

•Somers Point School District: Devon Fitzpatrick, Leah McGill and Emma Zurawski, eighth grade;

•Ventnor School District: Sheikh Nahiyan , Trevor Hazlett, Jonah Mason and Sameerah Ahmed, eighth grade;

•Weymouth Township School District: Brooke Armitage and Madison Hamilton, eighth grade;

•Chartertech High School for the Performing Arts: Sarah E. Holt and Johsian Martinez Gonzalez, 12th grade.

Read or Share this story: